IRE

Scott Mollan: an Introduction

Posted in Uncategorized by irenyc on October 12, 2009

“Who are you and what have you been doing since you came to Asia?”

My name is Scott Mollan.

I came to China as Creative Director for Ogilvy as CD for IBM Greater China. The IBM CD role was across advertising, DM and interactive- integrating campaigns in all media. There were 24 dedicated IBM creatives at Ogilvy Beijing. It was to be a two year appointment that was cut short when IBM China changed from an Asia Pacific account to a Global account after just 18months. This meant that most of the work would be adapting USA/global campaigns and this really wasn’t something I wanted to do. As an AP account, IBM was a great piece of business to work on creatively, particularly as we were doing campaigns for Greater China with independent budgets.

I also helped Ogilvy on other pieces of business including Audi, China Mobile, LG and winning the pitch for UT Starcom.

That’s when Denstu Beijing offered me the CD position in their First Accounts Division – a big agency with over 500 staff. I was responsible for a team of 36 in the creative department and studio. The major accounts were Lenovo, Citroen, China Unicom and Toshiba. We pitched and won Google and Yili Dairyfoods. I also designed and ran the training program for the creative department. This was really rewarding, not only because our department won some awards but also because the training raised the creative standards of the team. So much so, that when Lenovo bought the entire IBM PC division, and subsequently Dentsu losing a big chunk of its Lenovo revenues, and 11 of my team and I losing our jobs, I found six of them positions the next day at Y&R/Wunderman on the strength of our work. I also came on board at Y&R in a temporary CD position for 6 months to work on Chevron Texaco, Mattel, Foxconn and Microsoft and to provide creative and account management training.

Following that, McCann Beijing asked me if I would come on board with them as writer CD on a 12 month contract working on Microsoft, Intel, UPS and Nestle. At McCann I also set up their creative award training. Once again this proved fruitful with our work picking up 2 silvers, a bronze and 6 finalists in the 2006 China Ad Festival.

Microsoft and Nestle were 2 accounts where campaigns were integrated and I worked alongside the planners, and CDs of Momentum and MRM.

Before moving to India to manage a 40 person creative department for Lenovo Worldwide, I was CD for GQP San Francisco and Beijing, working on Symantec SE Asia, Foxconn, Riverbed Technologies, Hotel InterContinental, Goodyear and Siemens.

Leave a Reply

